Mon, 15 Jul 2013

Paolo Di Canio names Sunderland Barclays Asia Trophy squad

HONG KONG - Fans at the Barclays Asia Trophy will be the first to see Paolo Di Canio's revolution at Sunderland start in earnest with the news that all the head coach's summer signings are named in the 25-man squad for the tournament which starts in Hong Kong on 24 July, when the Italian’s team take on Tottenham Hotspur.

Di Canio has brought in seven new faces over the summer as he seeks to reshape a squad he inherited from Martin O'Neill in March.

The Italian has strengthened in all areas of the Sunderland squad from Vito Mannone, the goalkeeper signed from Arsenal, through to the defence with Modibo Diakite and Valentin Roberge, the midfield – Elhadji Ba, David Moberg Karlsson and Cabral - and in attack with Jozy Altidore, the US forward.

Supporters in Hong Kong will get a chance to see how Di Canio's recruits will be integrated into the team ahead of the new Barclays Premier League season, which starts for Sunderland with a match at home to Fulham on 17 August.

Also back in the squad is Wes Brown, the defender, who missed the latter half of last season through injury.

Di Canio has vowed to aim for Barclays Asia Trophy glory as he attempts to instil a winning mentality in his players.

"Only if we deliver this mentality can we take every competition seriously," he said. "So the Barclays Asia tournament is very important because we are going to face the top sides and it’s the dream of every player – this is the mission: to play every game against a top side.

"The fact that we have the chance to do this in Hong Kong means only the country changes, not the desire, the commitment that we have to deliver on the field, so it's a good opportunity. We want to win the tournament and we will do everything we can."

Sunderland squad for Barclays Asia Trophy

Vito Mannone, Jordan Pickford, Kieren Westwood.

Wes Brown, Carlos Cuellar, Modibo Diakite, Valentin Roberge, John O'Shea.

El-Hadji Ba, Cabral, Jack Colback, Craig Gardner, Adam Johnson, Sebastian Larsson, James McClean, David Moberg Karlsson, Alfred N’Diaye, David Vaughan.

Jozy Altidore, Danny Graham, Ji Dong-won, Mikael Mandron, Stephane Sessegnon, Connor Wickham.

ProEvents > News > Paolo Di Canio names Sunderland Barclays Asia Trophy squad

Related news